pentafonía, 1992

music composition for solo piano
duration 14’

honorific mention, Colcultura Awards, 1993, Colombia
honorific mention, National Music Council, 1995, Colombia

Alba Triana’s first composition already shows some of her most characteristic musical traits. Despite the use of contemporary techniques, the four movements in Pentafonía show a marked intuition in their emotional writing, revealing the composer’s search for an intimate and personal expression. Especially the first three movements highlight a gestural writing, laying the expressive content on texture more than on individual notes or melodies.


Published by Pontifical Xavierian University Press, 2007